I went to New York for the first time!

By: Dennissa

Dec 04 2011

Category: Uncategorized

3 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:55mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/1600 sec
Camera:NIKON D7000

I am eighteen years old, born in New Mexico and I consider myself a pretty well renounced world traveler (I mean I have been to a good amount of places). I finally made it to the concrete jungle of New York City. Might I say that it is beyond fantastic. Time Square was magically mesmerizing. It’s actually an awesome story of how I ended up in New York City for Black Friday. I had two choices for Thanksgiving break: option A – go home to Texas with my mom, dad, and brother (Spencer) or option B – go to DC with my brother (Blane) and my sister in law. I chose option B because going home to Texas for ten days would have been total excitement and then I would have had to come back to Boston for two weeks then go home again. So I thought it would be an even more exciting adventure to go to DC. What I didn’t know was going to happen was that I was going to have an unbelievably good time (not that I didn’t expect that, but God really showed up in some awesome ways). I got to tag along as my brother did ministry at a conference called Mosaic. International students gathered from many different colleges from the area and had a nontraditional Thanksgiving and a time to get to know God. There were students who believed in God and some that didn’t. It was an awesome experience to see different cultures mingle and come to know God more or for the first time. So to adventure to go with students from China, Brazil, El Salvador, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Australia, Hong Kong, Philippines, India, Iran, and other places was the best first encounter with New York. God really showed up in my life. The conference reminded me of things that I had left on the back burner of my mind. We serve such an incredibly big God.

3 comments on “I went to New York for the first time!”

  1. Love this one


Leave a Reply

